Skip to content
Transition workshop

ISO 9001 / ISO 14001 / ISO 45001 Transition workshop


There have been significant updates to the ISO 9001 quality management and ISO 14001 environmental management standards. These include a number of changes which tighten up or expand existing requirements, plus a major restructure, and change of emphasis.  There is also a brand new international standard for OHS - ISO 45001.

5 Reasons why the standards have been updated:

  1. To better reflect current management systems thinking – such as increased emphasis on process and risk management.
  2. To better facilitate integrated systems e.g. covering quality, health & safety, environment, information security etc.
  3. To improve relevance to service industries. It has long been a complaint by those in service industries that standards such as ISO 9001 were primarily focused on manufacturing industry.
  4. To improve relevance to diverse business models (e.g. online business, virtual offices etc.)
  5. To address the increasing complexity of business environment

Now we know the drivers for changes, let’s take a look at the changes themselves.

The Top 6 changes for new-generation ISO standards

  1. Less emphasis on documentation. For example, in ISO 9001 there are no longer requirements for a quality manual and documented procedures. That doesn’t mean you can’t have them – you just don’t have to. Requirements for documentation are greatly reduced, with greater emphasis being placed in other elements of management systems.
  2. Risk-based thinking. There are requirements for consideration of risk and opportunities throughout the new standards.
  3. More explicit requirements for the process approach to quality management. Although the previous ISO9001:2008 standard referred to the process approach, much more specific requirements are introduced to demonstrate how that is applied.
  4. Enhanced requirements for Leadership by top management. It will no longer be acceptable for top management to appoint a representative and leave all management system matters up to them. Previous requirements for Commitment have been expanded to include specific requirements for leadership to be actively demonstrated.
  5. A common high-level clause structure and changes in terminology. This particular change will be most significant - and of particular benefit - to those seeking to address multiple standards in an integrated system.
  6. Requirement for a life-cycle perspective in environmental management

The combined effect of these changes will make the standards of greater relevance to more organizations, and should lead to better management systems. However, to maintain certification, your organization will need to review and update its existing system.

To help you do that more efficiently and effectively, Qudos can facilitate a private ‘Bridge the Gap’ Transition Workshop at your premises or ours that includes:

  • Summary of the new standards.  
  • Practical exercise - Gap analysis against the new standards.
  • Practical exercise - Understanding the context of your organisation.
  • Each student receives valuable tools and resources for your new management system.